Executive Council Meeting Minutes – January 6, 2016

Call to Order

A special meeting of the Executive Council (EC) of the NSCA was held on **January 6, 2016** via teleconference. The meeting began at 7:00pm Central time and was presided over by Brett Moyes and then by Brett Seibert.

Attendees

Voting members in attendance included: John Commerford, Heyward Cunningham, Scott Robertson, Ted Sapoznik, Brett Seibert, and Rick Storey

<u>Voting members not in attendance included:</u> Steve Schultz

A quorum of the committee was present at the meeting

Brett Moyes and Michael Hampton also were in attendance

Agenda Items Discussed

Welcome and Introduction to the NSCA Executive Committee

Michael Hampton provided an overview of the NSSA-NSCA governance structure and the expected interaction and participation of the NSCA EC members with the leadership and various governance committees of the NSSA. Michael provided an overview of the responsibilities and authorities of various people and committees within the organization and reminded everyone that one of his roles was to protect the 501 c 3 status of the organization.

Michael stressed the need for excellent communications between everyone in order for the organization to be successful in accomplishing its mission.

Michael expressed his desire to support the EC in their work and committed that he and Brett Moyes would be available for assistance at any time that they were needed.

Election of the Executive Council Chairman and Vice Chairman

Brett Seibert was elected Chairman and Ted Sapoznik was elected Vice Chairman of the EC by a unanimous vote of the EC members

Determination of the recommendation for Executive Council Members on the NSSA Committees

The following NSSA Committee assignment recommendations were unanimously decided by the EC members; **Finance Committee:** John Commerford, Ted Sapoznik, Brett Seibert **Long Range Planning Committee:** Heyward Cunningham, Scott Robertson, Rick Storey

Advisory Council Committees

Brett Moyes reviewed the proposed assignments to the various AC Committees. All AC members were assigned to their desired first or second choice of a committee. (see attachment A)

It was decided by the EC that EC members would be temporarily assigned as chairpersons for each committee until the committee met and officially selected a chair and vice chair during their first committee meeting.

Upcoming Annual Advisory Council Meeting

A discussion was held regarding the agenda for the upcoming Annual Advisory Council meeting.

It was agreed that sufficient time should be allocated for the committees to properly discuss issues and determine recommended actions for consideration by the AC and EC. Ted submitted a draft of a proposed timeline for the EC to consider as a starting point for developing the final agenda for the meeting.

It was agreed that Brett Seibert would send out a letter to the AC members containing information on the AC meeting and to ask for their input on topics of discussion for any of the committees. The deadline for the responses will be January 14th to Brett Moyes who will compile and assign the topics to the appropriate AC committees.

Brett Moyes will arrange for a dinner meeting of the Executive Council on Wednesday, January 27th.

Information Sharing

Brett Moyes informed the EC of a recent discipline case that he would be investigating

Brett Moyes informed the EC of feedback from members regarding the awarding of punches for "sub-gauge" events

An update on the progress and methodology used in the Annual End of Year classification review was given by Brett Moyes.

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 8:18 PM

Respectfully submitted by Ted Sapoznik on Jan 7, 2016 and approved by the Executive Council on Jan 10, 2016

Advisory Council Committees

mass marketing marketing rules - governance member / club finance member growth competition awards instructor Commerford Sapoznik Seibert chair Robertson Cunningham Seibert Commerford Robertson Sapoznik Schultz Storey Storey Alford Bounds Brown Schultz Voss Mauro Twitchell Miles Bauman Glazier Montgomery Greenwood Benbow Grange Kruft Hemingway Howard Niederer Daniels Matarese Jr Nolen Jewell Jefferies Scull Richard Matarese Sr Kienbaum Mayes Parsons Sweeney Mclelland Miller Licata Fitzjarrel Pinto Cantrell Radulovich Markel Moore

= Executive Council member